Nothing Between

This past Sunday, we sang the hymn “Nothing Between” at our church. The hmyn was written in 1905 by Charles A. Tindley. Tindley has quite a story:Charles Tindley

From Wikipedia – Tindley’s father was a slave, but his mother was free. Tindley himself was thus considered to be free, but even so he grew up among slaves. After the Civil War, he moved to Philadelphia. He continued his education while working as a church janitor, teaching himself Hebrew and Greek and eventually earning a doctorate. After 25 years, he became the pastor of the same church at which he had been a janitor. Under his leadership, the church grew from 130 to a multiracial congregation of 10,000.

Glimpses of Christian History tells us “What motivated him was faith. It was the kind of faith that can face a bare table with confidence. Once there was nothing to eat in the house. He told his wife to set the table. “Why?” she asked, knowing full well the cupboards were bare. He insisted. Shortly there was a knock on the door. A man brought them dinner, saying his family had cooked too much.

Here are the lyrics:

Nothing between my soul and my Savior,
Naught of this world’s delusive dream;
I have renounced all sinful pleasure;
Jesus is mine, there’s nothing between.

Refrain:
Nothing between my soul and my Savior,
So that His blessed face may be seen;
Nothing preventing the least of His favor;
Keep the way clear! Let nothing between.

Nothing between, like worldly pleasure;
Habits of life, though harmless they seem,
Must not my heart from Him ever sever;
He is my all, there’s nothing between.

Nothing between, like pride or station;
Self or friends shall not intervene;
Though it may cost me much tribulation,
I am resolved, there’s nothing between.

Nothing between, e’en many hard trials,
Though the whole world against me convene;
Watching with prayer and much self-denial,
I’ll triumph at last, there’s nothing between.

Powerful words! They just don’t write them like they used to. Oh, that nothing would come between us and our Lord. Here is a video of an arrangement of this song combined with “I Surrender All”. May this be our theme today.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Joy on December 10, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    Wow! What powerful words indeed. Thanks for sharing this. God Bless!

    Reply

  2. Thanks for posting the gospel song Nothing Between, and the write-up about Charles Albert Tindley. I met his son years ago, a gospel singer. And you’re right, “They just don’t write them like they used to.” That’s one reason I encourage congregations not to abandon the old hymns, even if they use quite a bit of contemporary music.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Malama lufungulo on December 28, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    I love de song so much that i even shade tears when singing the song.The story behind the writing of the song touched my heart.I have much interest in knowing how different songs were written so that even when i play the piano in my church i may be able to tell a story. Thank u i hope u reply.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

