“I’m Not Talking About Perfection Here”

That phrase drives me nuts. Every time a preacher really gets going preaching about righteousness he suddenly feels the need to point out that we are not going to be perfect. In fact, we can’t be perfect. That’s like a cross country team rallying themselves up before a race and then the coach saying, “I know we are all excited now, but I know we probably won’t win, the other school has some really strong runners and I don’t want you to feel disappointed if you lose.” This is a sure prescription for losing the race. Meanwhile, the other school’s coach says, “we are going to win this race if it kills us.” And they will win. It is a matter of perspective.

What are we so afraid of? Do we think that if we set perfection as the goal then the the first time someone sins they will quit? Of course not. Are we afraid people will feel guilty if they sin? Isn’t that a good thing. Doesn’t godly sorrow lead to repentance and then to salvation? If God is not convicting and chastising us then we are orphans not sons.

Jesus said we are to “hunger and thirst after righteousness.” Paul said to make “no provision for the flesh.” Shouldn’t we have the goal of perfection, of holiness, of righteousness constantly before our eyes? Isn’t that a major aspect of the kingdom (a new heaven & earth wherein dwells righteousness)? Ladies and gentlemen it is time to stop hedging our bets and fall unflinchingly, uncompromisingly, irrevocably into the hands of God–the place where we have nothing but God and if He doesn’t pull us through, we will perish. Only in this place of craving to do what He wants and striving, suffering, fighting, for perfection can we ever hope to find it. All to the glory of God.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Victor on December 20, 2006 at 8:21 pm

    Welcome back to the extremist club. We’ve missed you.

    I completely and wholeheartedly agree. Keep the bar high. Keep Jesus as the standard. If I look around at the world I look good. Even if I look around at other Christians I look good. But when I compare myself to Jesus, I see that I still have far to go.

    At the same time, my love for God and Christ motivate me to want to be jut like them. The only excuse I have for lack of perfection is my own lusts. Jesus, a man like us, was tempted in ALL POINTS, yet always choose the way out. That gives me a lot of hope in my own struggle with sin.

    Recently, I haven’t been looking at the quest for holiness and perfection like things I need to check off a list. I passionately desire both of these traits in my own life, knowing that it is when I am holy and righteous that I am pleasing and like my God.

    To say we are not going to sin is not biblical, however, to say we do not have to sin is. May we all keep God’s standard’s ours and not dumb things down to excuse, validate or justify our sin.

    Reply

  2. Posted by John Paul on December 21, 2006 at 3:07 am

    Its something that i’ve heard all to often from those who don’t think that repentance is not something you preach,And that “G-d knows your heart”. “we are not going to be perfect” “we sin everyday.” They feel that we would feel to bad with ourselves if we aim for that profection and fall short. Yes you should morn your sin, but you must look at it as something in your past or something that you need God to help you with. Asking God for wisdom and guidence and strenght will help you with temptations and sins. We will not be perfect, but we can die trying.

    Reply

  3. Posted by JohnO on December 21, 2006 at 3:23 am

    JP is in the ultra-extremist club with “G-d” 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by Victor on December 21, 2006 at 3:26 am

    welcome to the club jps;-)

    Reply

  5. Posted by Dustin Smith on December 21, 2006 at 6:46 am

    Can I join the club? I cook a mean kosher salad.

    Reply

  6. Posted by SteveP on December 21, 2006 at 4:33 pm

    For an example of why and how we can go on to perfection, see Chapter 4 of The Price of God’s Miracle Working Power, by A.A. Allen. It’s excellent.

    Link follows –

    http://www.eaglevision.com.my/allen.htm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

