Devotion.

Has anyone ever been on a sports team where you know that your teammates are not giving 100%? How does it make you feel? How does it make the team feel? The popular saying that “a chain is only as strong as its weakest link” is absolutely true in this situation. If a (football) blocker only holds his block for like 3 seconds, then lets off—the opposing team will exploit it and take advantage of it, to the ruin of your team’s performance. When someone does not devote themselves, then everyone suffers.

In the Scriptures we are told to “Devote ourselves to ________”

There are quite a few verses that have varied things that can fit into that blank. Webster’s dictionary defines devote as:
“To appropriate by or as if by a vow; set apart or dedicate by a solemn or formal act; consecrate”

Let’s look at some of the verses that talk about devotion in our Christian walk.

Col. 4:2 Devote yourselves to prayer, keeping alert in it with an attitude of thanksgiving

Wow, I am supposed to be devoted to prayer? Giving it my all? Consecrating myself to speak to God when I’m alone? Man, something I don’t think I can honestly put a checkmark by everyday.

Acts 6:4 But we will devote ourselves to … to the ministry of the word

Goodness. Am I devoting myself to the ministry of the gospel of the KG? Sometimes I may feel like I give more effort than others, so I’m good in the eyes of God. Maybe that kind of thinking gets us stuck in certain kinds of sin. Along with prayer, I should pray for a door to open up so that I can speak the gospel.

Acts. 2:42 They were continually devoting themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to fellowship, to the breaking of bread

3 things here (there were 4, but I left out prayer) that the early church was devoted to. One was the Apostles teachings, another was fellowship, and the third was eating. To me, devoting myself to the Apostles teachings means reading and talking about the Scriptures (esp. the words of Jesus, written by Apostles). I think I get this down pretty much. Some others may have to examine themselves to see if they are devoting themselves to the Apostles teachings.

Fellowship means just hanging out with other believers apart from people of the world. Coming together for games, chit-chat, prayer, dinner, activities, etc. The idea is to be immersed in other believers and to get away from the world and its desires. This is not an isolationist activity.

Breaking of bread, I must say, is one of my favorites. I mean, who does not like to eat? Having meals together is a good way to fellowship and get to know other believers. You can occasionally observe the Lord’s Supper when eating together.

Hopefully some of these passages have encouraged you to step up your devotion in these critical areas. May our lord Messiah come soon.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by iRiley on January 3, 2007 at 9:39 pm

    Amen.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Victor on January 4, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    Excellent points brother Dustin.

    One comment I had was about the idea of fellowship. I think fellowship is spending time together with the family in general – I have always understood the word fellowship to mean “fully sharing.” I’ve always liked that definition because I want to do more than just “hang out” with people I want to share my life and struggles and growth with them as they do with me also. The relationship of like-minded brethren is so special to me, as I know to you also.

    May we strive for this kind of fellowship – unity in heart and mind and appreciating the time we spend together because of the sense of belonging we have with each other which is so contrary to what we have as a kingdom Christian with the world now. May we be devoted to do this more and more till the Kingdom comes (Hebrews 10:23-25)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

