Love/Hate?

As 21st century Americans we have a lot of things around us to be happy about. We have freedom, good health, good food, and every sort of entertainment you could imagine. Yet sometimes, we find ourselves attached to these forms of enjoyment. We become addicted. Addiction turns to fanatic. Fanatic turns to idolizing. And yet, many times these go unchecked, even in the Christian church.

Something that I personally get all wrapped up in is college football. I enjoy being a fan. I like espn.com. I have fun following the teams and players. I get all hyper and excited over games. If a team wins, hip hip hurrah. If they lose, life sucks. Yet, I feel bad when I can’t carry this same zeal into my worship on the following Sunday.

Jesus tells us a few sobering things about priorities. He tells us in Matt. 6:24 that “No one can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and [mammon].”

Jesus talks about “love” and “hate” in this passage. You may say to yourself “But I won’t hate the thing that I serve, I can keep it in check. I can keep it just right below God.” But what Jesus says is that serving two is impossible. To the level that our commitment to the kingdom gospel to everything else needs to look like a “love/hate” relationship. Our following of Jesus as our lord needs to take precedence over all other hobbies and activities.

Compared to my love to the Messiah, it had better look like I am hating football.

Comments and discussion are encouraged….

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by sean on January 31, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    Amen, Dustin. Beautiful post. We should know more stats about the Bible/Church History/Christianity than football/baseball/hockey/soccer, etc. We are the people of the book not the people of the pigskin!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

