Global Warming Conversation

With conversation about “Global Warming” dominating the headlines in the United States and around the world recently, I was refreshed by this very thoughtful commentary by Russell D. Moore.

Blood, Gore, and Global Warming

Thanks to John O, who forward this to me.  Let me know your thought on this issue, from a Kingdom-Christian perspective.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Johnpaulsmajda on July 17, 2007 at 3:33 pm

    Wow how did this post slip past me for so long?!!!
    We’ll some of you know how I feel about alot of these issues.
    The first thought that comes to mind is this
    I think if our hope is to live in God’s coming kingdom, and part of our role in this kingdom will be to help restore earth to its paradise like state, why would we make that future job harder for us? This earth will have to go through the tremendous healing process during this time. I dont believe that mankind will be able to wipe out man kind and the rest of life on earth through pollution and/or Nuclear means, God said (in Revelation) that its going to come close and that he will step in, and that if he didn’t mankind would wipe itself out. And I have no doubt that God will able to restore all back to its original paradise like state.

    When I talk to people on this issue, I also mention

    Revelation 11:18: “And the nations were enraged, and Your wrath came, and the time came for the dead to be judged, and the time to reward Your bond-servants the prophets and the saints and those who fear Your name, the small and the great, and to destroy those who destroy the earth.”

    People think I go to far with this interpretation of this verse. I recall someone actually getting quite mad at me for using this verse as some “environmentally thoughtless” deed occurred. I for one to take it literally, God will destroy those who contribute to the destruction of the earth.

    I’ve heard it said from a Christian once that they welcome this environmental decay and that they don’t care about their contributions to it because it just draws the day of Christ’s return nearer to us. I for one was shocked at such a statement. Is this really a Godly attitude? I could do the same thing also by purchasing goods and services from the known anti-christ, thereby helping his rise to power. Would we really want to knowingly contribute to such a thing?

    Another thing to consider when talking about this is who it is going to effect. Unfortunately it is not the developed nations that are going to reap most of the consequences of their own environmental neglect, rather it is the poorer third world nations. The major concern is over an adequate clean water supply. These nations do not have any kind of water filtration system, they dont even have pipes. While most developed nations will not have to worry about such matters. We have water filters and air conditioners and health care and technology that will allow us to last through this kind of crisis with far fewer casualties. I think we should honestly at the very least consider the poor in this matter.

    So what should we do? i don’t know. I do not protest or campaign or belong or contribute to any environmental causes. But I honestly try my best not to contribute to the problem.

    Reduce the amount of wasteful products you use.

    Reuse the wasteful products as much as possible

    Recycle everything that can be.

    It would be nice if God forbid this problem becomes deadly in the future and the Christian community was able to say that our hands are clean of this issue. But i know that it is not. The attitude that I described coming from Christians at the beginning of the post is the normal one.

    I must say that it really does bother me when I see styrofoam and plastic cups at church gatherings. That I see soda cans thrown in the garbage along side the food. I haven’t seen to many churches that recycle at all. I see people drive somewhere that they can walk to inside of 3 minutes. (yes, I’m speaking directly to some of you who read this blog.)
    I think its sad that the secular humanists have the high ground on this issue. We are not good stewards of the earth plain and simple.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Johnpaulsmajda on July 17, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    someone fix that please. I thought I did the right “block quote” thing but i guess I didnt

    Reply

Leave a Reply

