Common objections from Brad Pitt

Brad Pitt came up with some common objections to religion and Christianity

“It was my first year in college and I was pushing back against the religion thing. In my eyes it was a mechanism of guilt , this engrained system, used to keep the flock in servitude.” Brad was raised a conservative Southern Baptist. “Guilt is the thing I find most evil about it. It’s the thing I rail against the most. She helped me in defining what I believed.

“Religion works,” he goes on. “I know there’s comfort there, a crash pad. It’s something to explain the world and tell you there is something bigger than you, and it is going to be alright in the end. It works because it’s comforting. I grew up believing in it, and it worked for me in whatever my little personal high school crisis was, but it didn’t last for me. I didn’t understand this idea of a God who says, ‘You have to acknowledge me. You have to say that I’m the best, and then I’ll give you eternal happiness. If you won’t, then you don’t get it!’ It seemed to be about ego. I can’t see God operating from ego, so it made no sense to me.
Found here

These are some simple objections that are often raised when talking with people about Christianity, and religion in general. I’m going to try and list out misconceptions in a list, tell me what you think:

  1. I am entitled to hapiness
  2. My motives aren’t under question, but God’s are
  3. God is supposed to serve me, it is all about me

Make no mistake, Brad has some things right too:

  1. Guilt – is the reaction of knowing your own sin in light of God’s commands
  2. Comfort – an explanation of the world is comforting

It all comes down to our understanding of God as some of the replies go into. God shows why he is deserving of praise and worship, and why we are not. Our guilt is an admission of that. Our self-centeredness needs to be removed. We shouldn’t be comfortable with ourselves in front of God if we haven’t repented. Brad seems to have made a god in his own image – one with sovereignty that gives him comfort, without giving him guilt over his actions. One has to wonder whether or not that God exists?

Leave a Reply

