“Life’s Not Fair!”

Maybe some of you can relate. When I was a kid, especially when it came to my other siblings, I wanted things to be fair. I thought what was spent on me should be the exact same amount spent on each other person, and not a penny more. I had better get just as good of a present as they got.

Yet, I soon found out that life was not always just and fair the way I wanted it to be. I would complain to my Dad that “that’s not fair!” He would respond in saying that “Indeed, life is not fair.” Part of me inside wanted to lash back and say ” Well, what can we do to make it fair?

I guess that is how I thought when I was a child. Look at the words of Jesus when it comes to how we treat others in fairness:

“But love your enemies and do good, and lend, expecting nothing in return; and your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High, for He Himself is kind to ungrateful and evil men.” Luke 6:35

Jesus tells us here that my childhood dream can be a reality. There can be a fairness in this world. Why is that? Well, we are commanded to treat everyone the same loving way. We don’t only love those who love us, we also need to be loving to those who aren’t too fond of us. Why are we supposed to do this? It is because we are imitating our heavenly Father. He does not show favoritism. He allows it to rain on your grass and the grass of the nonbelievers. He gives life to you and to your neighbors too. He has provided food and drink to your family and the family down the road.

God is fair. He gives everyone a chance. He wants all of His creation to willing seek after Him. He gives us the free will choice to do so. God does not play favorites. He is fair and also just.

We can make the fairness-dream a reality if we make the commitment to follow the example of the loving God that we serve to love everyone, not just our friends.

More from Pastor Dustin Smith at http://www.timberlandbiblechurch.org/

6 responses to this post.

  1. The fairness of life or lack of it is poorly thought out crutch. Your god is not looking out for you nor is he getting ready to screw you over.

    Heaven does as it will without regard for us mortals. The gods (God in your case) gave us their gifts and blessings when they gave our spirits / souls. Those gifts were meant for use to prosper in the world the gods created.

    Reply

  2. Jonolan, thanks for your comment. What makes you lean towards this point of view?

    Reply

  3. It’s seems to me that we have been given every blessing we could want – our desire to understand Divinity – and every curse we could deserve – our failure to exercise that desire. What more is needed?

    My thoughts are that God (or the gods) made Man. By that I mean made his spirit – the flesh being mutable. That spirit and what it engenders is everything blessing and curse that could be.

    You cannot make the world fair because the world is something viewed differently by each spirit.

    Reply

  4. Well, I don’t know about you, but I have not been giving everything I could want – but I have been given a great deal that I should not have been given, and all that I in fact need. There still remains much that is wrong with the world, that I think is the point of the post, that although things are not “fair” in that so many people do not get what they actually deserve (both good and bad), and thus imitating God, who is merciful to all. Does that make sense?

    Reply

  5. I guess it does.

    Reply

  6. so where do you disagree?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

