Winter Advance: “What We’re Living For”

The Kingdom is coming…are you ready?

I was so thankful to be with all of you for this wonderful weekend.  As I was driving home the importance of staying connected with each other was impressed upon my heart and mind. We need each other.  Many of us have gone home, not to churches and fellowships only minutes away from our home, but hours.  Perhaps even our homes have strife and contention.  Certainly our schools are rarely places of refuge from the world, but rather the epicenter of the evil of this present age.  All of this and more make it critical that we stay connected with each other to do more than just talk and find our “what’s new” but to encourage, challenge, and care for each other.

I thought this verse was appropriate:

Hebrews 10:24-25 – and let us consider how to stimulate one another to love and good deeds, not forsaking our own assembling together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another; and all the more as you see the day drawing near.

May we do this for each other.

Galatians 6:2 – Bear one another’s burdens, and thereby fulfill the law of Christ.

So, what are you thinking about in light of our time together and the teachings from these last three days?

  • Questions?
  • Concerns?
  • Challenges?

Feel free to share your thoughts.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jacqueline Murphy on December 29, 2007 at 11:20 pm

    This past Winter Advance was really quite an experience. I find that winter time is especially hard when it comes to finding fun things to do but this weekend was full of adventures between snow tubing, rock climbing and meeting so many new people. I really felt like a role model this weekend between power fellowship, my two roommates and my sharing. It was really cool to be there as a “big” sister in Christ for all these great kids who are aspiring to be ambassadors for Christ. The winter advance was a great time to have many personal conversations with a bunch of younger kids, Reverend Finnegan, the counselors, some of the kids my age and some new members of our church. The whole vibe of the weekend was really warm and from everyone I spoke with, it was easy to be yourself and ask questions. I have so much faith in the kids that attended the winter advance. I really believe in their future as Christians and I can’t wait to see them again. I love all of you so much and I’ll be praying for you. Don’t forget to keep in touch. We can shine as one big light togethaaaa!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ian Riley on December 30, 2007 at 12:36 am

    Jacqueline Murphy, Amen.

    -to be continued.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lynn Vetro on December 31, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    My Sarah came home on fire for God. What a great time for all of the teens to be together. To open there hearts to God and to one another. What a refreshing time. Please keep in touch

    Reply

  4. Lynn, it was wonderful to meet Sarah. If we can help her keep that “fire for God” please let us know.

    Bless GOD
    -Victor

    Reply

  5. Posted by Sarah on January 3, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    I had a great experince at the teen advance I had so much fun wuth my roomates they where alot of fun.Jackie was a big help to me she would answer any questions i had for her she was a big help in this weekend and helping me understand more about god i loved making new friends that are so well friendly. i cant wait till the next teen advance . im so excited
    oxoxoxoxox- Sarah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

