Oprah’s Testimony?

Wow.  Interesting comments from Oprah Winfrey don’t you think? It seems from her story here that he did not like what she was hearing from church, but still wanted to keep some form of “spirituality” in her life that fit her views and her perspectives on life.  There are many say things that I was thinking in light of this short clip, here are a couple of thoughts – please feel free to add to our list:

  • – Oprah is one of the most influential person in the world today – millions of people have her in their home for an hour a day.
  • – Oprah is still calling herself a Christian and her viewers on the fence could compare themselves to her and also sift out things they don’t like about God or the Bible and call themselves Christians as well – leaving them in an uncomfortable position on judgement day (that’s an understatement)
  • – She is leading the charge to unite what she calls Christianity and the new age/pagan teachings of Eckhart Tolle’s book “The New Earth”.  This is not Christianity and it also seems to be a new/new age religion which is based on pragmatism – that the results of the system justify the system being good.  This is very deceptive I think because we have people whose marriages get better, who find inner peace, etc and yet in the end, they have not repented of nor been forgiven of their sins.  The troubles in their life that often times cause them to realize their need for God is instead being filled with this erroneous filler.

What else do you see from this? Do you disagree with my assessment?

8 responses to this post.

  1. I disagree that Oprah is promoting anything other than Christianity. I have found a lot of peace while reading and studying “A New Earth” by Eckhart Tolle. The whole webinar experience has been wonderful and very uplifting. I find that it has just increased my love and appreciation of Jesus Christ and Heavenly Father and has made me a happier person and therefore a better Christian.

    Cynthia

    Reply

  2. Cynthia, thanks for logging on. From the experience you have described, I hope I could ask you a follow-up question in regards to your situation. As a Christian, would you recommend or participate in getting your fortuned told by a crystal ball reader or go to a hypnosist? I don’t know your answer for sure, but I would assume that the answer would be “no” for most – yet both fortune telling and being hypnotized can lead to “good” results in someone’s life – my question in light of this and the Tolle book is then just because the results are “good”, does this mean that the method is as well?

    Reply

  3. There is some good discussion and Christian overviews with reference to Eckhart Tolle’s book, “A New Earth” at the following links that are worth checking out….

    http://prolepticlife.wordpress.com/

    and

    http://bcooper.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  4. Hi, Victor. In response to your question, no, I personally would not seek a fortune teller or hypnotist, but do believe in “good” results. I don’t know what method in Tolle’s book you are referring to. So far, all of his methods of realizing the present moment have been ones that feel very practical. There doesn’t feel to be any “magical” methods to his means to an end.

    Basically, I’m not sure I understand the point you are trying to make. I do appreciate the comment/question. Perhaps you could rephrase it, so I can understand your point.

    Thanks,
    Cynthia

    Reply

  5. Posted by angryxtian on May 2, 2008 at 1:36 am

    Thank you for helping to expose this!

    Reply

  6. Cynthia, thanks for your comment back.

    When I mentioned the fortune teller and the like, my point was that many people will go to them and say “look at the results” even though we know Biblically how God feels about all of that.

    Let me state first – I have not read the Tolle book – I have enough half finished book on my bedside table for my wife to be on my case ;-)…but I have heard excerpts of the book and of the webcast and I have been disturbed by what I have heard.
    Here are a few clips:

    Listen starting around min 6 – Way of the Master 3/29/08 – Weekend Show

    Listen starting around min 7 – Way of the Master 4/23/08 – Hour 2

    Here’s a video – http://youtube.com/watch?v=JW4LLwkgmqA

    Way of the Master Radio has been highlighting some of this. Here is a link to their episodes which they speak about Oprah –

    http://www.wayofthemasterradio.com/podcast/index.php?s=oprah

    If you get some time, listen to some of this and let me know if it helps.

    Reply

  7. Victor,
    I will listen to the clips that you posted and comment, but in the meanwhile, since you admit that you haven’t even read the book, why don’t you? I think that perhaps if you read part of the book, maybe it won’t seem like it is offensive to Christianity, but that it actually makes it more understandable. I have found that the things in the book have only enhanced my already firm believe in my Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ. It also has given me a way to feel closer to God, by silent meditation, and allowing myself to “Be Still and know that He is God.” (I changed the “He” from “I” for the purpose of not being confused for stating that “I” am God.)

    Anyway, thank you for your interesting comments.

    Cynthia

    Reply

  8. Cynthia, thanks for taking the time to listen to the clips I posted. After you listen to the comments, tell me if you think I should still take the time to read the book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

