Debating The Trinity

Presented by Brant Bosserman and Sean Finnegan at the One God Conference, Seattle WA June 1st 2008, commentary by Sean Finnegan. Click here to listen the entire 2 hour debate or click on one of the parts below.

The debate was over whether God is a single individual (the Father of Jesus) or if he is a Trinity (three persons in one essence). The debate followed this format:

Introduction by Ken Westby and Tom Bosserman [10 min] listen or download

Sean’s Opening Statement [20 min] listen or download
Brant’s Opening Statement [20 min] listen or download

Sean’s Rebuttal [15 min] listen or download
Brant’s Rebuttal [15 min] listen or download

Sean Cross-Examine Brant [10 min] listen or download
Brant Cross-Examine Sean [10 min] listen or download

Sean’s Closing Statement [5 min] listen or download
Brant’s Closing Statement [5 min] listen or download

The discussion was lively and considerate and I thank Brant for his willingness to engage us on this issue. Unfortunately the recording has some microphone interference during the concluding statements but most of what was said can be understood. Sorry for the inconvenience.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Hi

    Sorry, I don’t agree with you.
    I respect your religion; but I have my own free opinion. I think it to be too cruel for a father (God) to sacrifice/kill his beloved one (son) for others imaginary sins.

    The truth, in my opinion, is that Jesus was not God; he never proclaimed as such, there are no direct quotes from him in this regards. God talked with Jesus and revealed His word on him, He chose Jesus his Messenger/Prophet/Messiah, Jesus was not a son of God.

    Jews did not believe that Jesus was a true Moshiach or Prophet of God and to prove that they tried to kill him by putting him on cross, Jesus became unconscious due to the injuries inflicted on him. He was delivered from cross alive and placed in a room like tomb where he was treated for the injuries.

    This was done secretly lest the Jews again torture him. Afterwards, he went to spread the gospel to the remaining ten tribes of the House of Israel, he died a natural death later at some point in the history. This is all truth in my opinion.

    Kindly visit my blogsite for any peaceful comments and or peaceful discussion on interesting posts/pages there. You are welcome for your differing opinion/thoughts if you so like.

    Thanks

    I am an Ahmadi peaceful Muslim

    Reply

  2. Ahmadi,
    Thanks for logging on to Higher Ground. Did you get a chance to listen to the debate itself? I can elaborate a bit more on Sean’s position which my be helpful for your understanding. We do not believe Jesus was God Himself, but the Messiah, God’s anointed and appointed one. The Bible teaches that there is only one God. This is what Moses, David, and Jesus all believed as well. By the New Testament calling Jesus the Son of God, it does not mean that he is God or that God had sexual relations with Mary or something. Instead, the prophet David says the following about the Messiah:

    I Chronicles 17:10b-14 – Moreover, I tell you that the LORD will build a house for you. “When your days are fulfilled that you must go to be with your fathers, that I will set up one of your descendants after you, who will be of your sons; and I will establish his kingdom. “He shall build for Me a house, and I will establish his throne forever. “I will be his father and he shall be My son; and I will not take My lovingkindness away from him, as I took it from him who was before you. “But I will settle him in My house and in My kingdom forever, and his throne shall be established forever.”‘

    Here the Messiah is spoken of and the prophet tells David that this one coming would be a descendant of David as well as have God Himself as his Father. This however, does not mean Jesus was God himself.

    As to your other points however, we do not have reliable information that Jesus died a “natural death” after recoving from wounds suffered by the Roman soldiers. We have historical evidence that this was not the case. I’d be happy to talk more about this with you as well.

    One initial question for you though – you used the phrase “imaginary sins” in your post – do you propose that there is no such thing as sin?

    Reply

  3. Qoute from your post:
    The Bible teaches that there is only one God. This is what Moses, David, and Jesus all believed as well. By the New Testament calling Jesus the Son of God, it does not mean that he is God or that God had sexual relations with Mary or something
    __________________________

    Hi

    GodAllahYHWH bless you! I totally agree with your above truthful thoughts. This is the essence of the Bible and Quran supports and confirms it.

    I love Jesus , Mary and Muhammad.

    I am an Ahmadi peaceful Muslim

    Reply

  4. Ahmadi, thanks for your comments again. Could you look back over my post and answer the questions that I posed you?
    Thanks!

    Reply

  5. Quote from your Post:
    One initial question for you though – you used the phrase “imaginary sins” in your post – do you propose that there is no such thing as sin?
    __________________________

    Hi Victor, my friend!

    I don’t mean that there are/were no sins.

    In my opinion the sins are forgiven by GodAllahYHWH when a sinner repents over his mistakes, asks forgiveness from GodAllahYHWH and resolves not to do it again. If God forgives the sins then it is as if no sins were committed altogether.

    This is established from OTBible, Moses and Jesus. Quran also spports it and confirms it:

    [39:54] Say, ‘O My servants who have sinned against their souls, despair not of the mercy of Allah, surely, Allah forgives all sins. Verily, He is Most forgiving, Ever Merciful;
    [39:55] ‘And turn to your Lord, and submit yourselves to Him, before there comes unto you the punishment; for then you shall not be helped;
    [39:56] And follow the best Teaching that has been revealed to you from your Lord, before the punishment comes upon you suddenly, while you perceive not.’
    [39:57] Lest a soul should say, ‘O woe is me in that I neglected my duty in respect of Allah! Surely, I was among the scoffers.’
    http://www3.alislam.org/showChapter.jsp?submitCh=Read+from+verse%3A&ch=39&verse=49

    It was Paul who invented his theological philosophy on imaginary sins; which has nothing to do with OTBible or Moses, Jesus ,Quran and Muhammad.

    Thanks

    I am an Ahmadi peaceful Muslim

    Reply

  6. Thanks for your reply. Do you believe that God is just?

    Reply

  7. God’s Word and His Holy Spirit are in place for all believers in Him. I do not question nor doubt that Jesus is the Son of God or that God is the Father. All three; Father, Son and Holy Ghost are One and the same, they make up the Holy Trinity.

    I recently read your communications with parrsurrey and wanted to make this comment. I invite you to visit my blog: http://www.godstillheals.wordpress.com

    Reply

  8. Thanks for your comment. Did you get a chance to listen to the debate?

    Reply

  9. Posted by disableme on September 28, 2008 at 1:17 am

    My name is Able Baker and I am looking to get in touch with Brant Bosserman do you know how I can get in contact with him? We are old friends

    if you can e mail me at pastorablebaker@gmail.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

