Sabbath Day Thoughts

As I have said before I realized early in my desire to take a weekly Sabbath that you have to work to not work, after a couple of weeks of out of town visitors, traveling, and stuff to do, I sit down again early this morning and enjoy time with the LORD (and my sweet 4month old).  We’re taking a Sabbath today again finally back to the normal routine that our family really wants and needs.

As I sat down this morning after realizing I could and I reflected on the fact that Israel eventually did not keep the sabbath that was commanded them by their God.

As I have said from the beginning of my own sabbath journey, I am not advocating that Christians keep the sabbath as a command of the LORD and if they don’t they are far from God – this is something that I have begun to see the value and importance of in my own life for my own life.  That being said, I understand what God commanded Israel as He did:

Exodus 20:8  “Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy.

Deuteronomy 5:15 – You shall remember that you were a slave in the land of Egypt, and the LORD your God brought you out from there with a mighty hand and an outstretched arm. Therefore the LORD your God commanded you to keep the Sabbath day.

This is something I have to remember to do – if not, my life, my schedule and the things of the world will pile up and overload me so that I end up doing work and being worked up when I need to rest.

Honestly, we need to have better control of our lives – doesn’t it seems that sometimes we go from one thing to the next and then to the next without thinking about what it is we’re doing?  We react and respond to things that come at us without realizing that our responses and actions are often without thought.  We make decisions by indecision.

I am understanding more and more that can’t be like this in general with  Christianity and regarding my sabbath taking specifically.  I have to remember throughout the week that I have been redeemed – I’m not living for this life, this job, this task, this errand, etc – I’m living free because of Christ in expectation of the coming Kingdom.  And then today, I am going to celebrate this expectation of rest in the future by resting from the normal routine of Sunday-Friday.

So, more thoughts in my mind today to consider, and I’ll do so today because I’m going to work hard to rest today!

Shabbat Shalom.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Just found your blog. Wonderful thoughts, from a fellow Sabbath-journey-er.

    Reply

  2. Pondering the sobriety of what you are saying….

    Im always SO busy and NEVER finished…

    Sundays have become a CATCH UP day of rest…

    I get the feeeling someones getting robbed by the conforming to this busy world which NEVER has enough time for GOD….

    convicted and thinking…………..

    lisa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

